Book Review #194: Colorful Notions


Author: Mohit Goyal

Genre: Fiction, Travel Fiction

Language: English

Series, if any: NA 

Publisher: Srishti publishers & distributors 

Date of publication: 1 November 2016

No. of pages: 200

Synopsis: 

Would you give up a plush, high- paying job to drive ten thousand kilometres across India? Three twenty-something individuals dare to do that. While the two boys take turns to drive, the girl lends her boice to record their entire journey on a handycam. From the spooky nights at the Bhangarh Fort to mayhem at Wagah Border and the sprawling wilderness of the Sundarbans, to near-death experiences, this roand trip is a journey not only in terms of physical and mental gumption, but also into the inner recesses of their souls, redefining love, friendship and their goals in life. 

Review: 

For a traveller like me, this road trip reminds me of the journeys that I jave taken and the ones that I am planning to take. For those who have followed me in my travelogues, they will understand my affection for the simplicity of the plotline: roadtrips across the length and breadth of India. The plot resounds more with my beliefs and the depiction of the place is slmething that I can understand and relate to. The 25 cities chosen by the characters make sense as you learn about their logic. The characters are easy and affable, though sometimes their dramatic antics did piss me off. But the engaging style of writing captured the essence of the plot and helped in retainjng the focus of the characters as well as the readers, and for that I shall pay my compliments to the author. 

My opinion: Surprisingly a good book. Can be enjoyed if you are up for something different. 

My ratinn: 3.5 out of 5

Leave a Reply

