Book Review #154: The Beauty of the End


Author: Debbie Howells

Genre: Mystery & Thrillers, General Fiction

Language: English 

Series, if any: NA

Publisher: Kensington Books

Date of publication: 26 July 2016

No. Of pages: 258

Synopsis:

I was fourteen when I fell in love with a goddess. 

A childhood crush shadowed with secrets and lies, Noah Calaway is haunted with the memories of his idea of perfection and adoration of a young lady who left him at the altar 16 years ago. Now, the woman he once loved and worshipped is lying in coma as a result of an overdose and is a suspect in a brutal murder. 

He is going to do everything to save her, including sifting through the muddied waters of the past. What he never expected was the truth to come out of a teenager named Ella, who is also haunted by the past. 

Review: 

I was ecstatic when the publisher granted me permission to read this book mainly because of the intriguing deacription. I have heard of Debbie Howells, though I have bever personally read up on any of her works. What I didn’t expect was this disappointment. I think the biggest problem with reading a book in ebook is the formating of the story; the haphazard way in whigh the entire plot has been played and narrated does take up more time than it is required. Either this a fault of the format of the ebook, or this was genuinely the way the book has been written. I am praying for the former scenario because in case it turn out to be the later, this would be a disappointment. It’s quite difficult to navigate and understand the story, especially with random characters having their own storyline within an existing storyline. 

I didn’t really find any scintillating suspense as I was promised and that really disappoints me when it comes to the genre of mysteries and thrillers. There were pages were I just completely zoned out and that’s the worst thing that can happen to a reader. 

While the title does make sense when it comes to the main plot, the cover jmage looks like a scene that has been taken straight from some kind of alien-in-human boddy movie.

My opinion: Nothing spectacular anout the book and definitely not recommending any further. 

My rating: 1 out of 5

Leave a Reply

