Book Review #146: My Husband’s Son

Author: Deborah O’Connor

Genre: Mystery & Thrillers, General Fiction

Language: English 

Series, if any: NA

Publisher: Bonnier Publishing 

Date of publication: 6 October 2016

No. Of pages: 384

Synopsis: 

Six years ago, Heidi’s daughter was murderer. One year later, Jason’s son Barney was kidnapped. A shared loss might have brought then together. You would think that having such a devasting thing common, a father might recognise his own son if an opportunity presents itself suddenly. Is that the reason why Jason refuses to acknowledge Heidi’s chance sighting of the little boy? Or is he hiding something?

Review: 

I was so intrigued by the description that I was really looking forward to it. Somehow unlike the other reviewers out there, I did not like this book. Ehat could have been an exciting psychological thriller, turned out to be a tragedy of words for me. The book meandered a lot; I can blame it on the way it has been written. But what I didn’t like the most was how the characters has been framed; for a thriller that been based on a traumatising plot, it really unsettled me with the way the characters reacted within the pages. I wasn’t able togorm any kind of emotional bond with any of them. 

The cover image is definitely striking with it’s inconspicuous title, but somehow it failed to translate within the plot. 

My opinion: Somehow this has been popular amongst rest of the reviewers that are out there. But from my side, I won’t be recommending it. 

My rating: 1 out of 5

2 thoughts on “Book Review #146: My Husband’s Son

Leave a Reply

