Book Review #139: One Two Three


Author: Elodie Nowodazkij

Genre: General Fiction, Teens & Yound Adults

Language: English

Series, if any: Broken Dreams: Natalya’s Story, Book 1

Publisher: Victory Editing

Date of publication: 26 June 2016

No. Of pages: 204

Synopsis: 

17-year old Natalya Pushkya was living her dream of becoming a professional ballerina until the tragedy strikes at heart; her father passed away in a car crash and her mother becomes a full-time alcoholic. 

Antonio may be the sexy rogue footballer, but his patience and charm finally draws Natalya out of her shell. But secrets have a way of building up. Will Natalya finally be able to live upto her full potential or will she break down like her mother?

Review: 

There is only one way to describe this book – Teenage Drama, which is a good thing because it matches up with the genreic specifications. But beyond that I wasn’t very happy with this book. Honestly speaking, more than a genre of the book, I go by the plot outlines in the descriptions. In this case also, the outline was very intriguing and hence I opted for it. But beyond the plot, I really didn’t like much about the book. The characters were nice, but being teenagers I couldn’t like them at all. The style of narration appeared disjointed in many places, maybe because of the excessive use of ballet metaphors to describe feelings. I get that the book is somewhat related to ballet, but I don’t think every feeling needs to be categorised in such a way that only the character who knows ballet, can actually relate to it. 

One other thing that I loved about this book would be the cover image thag has been so creatively designed to match the overall tone of the book. Though, the symbol of heart was not required there. I am still debating. Upon the use of the title for this book since I was not able to justify it anywhere in the book. 

My opinion: The book is actually interesting but maybe more for the teenagers than us oldies. I wouldn’t be recomending it beyond the age group that has been targeted

My rating: 2 out of 5

Leave a Reply

