Book Review #125: Die of Shame


Author: Mark Billingham

Genre: General Fiction, Mystery & Thriller

Language: English

Series, if any: NA

Publisher: Atlantic Monthly Press

Date of publication: 7 June 2016

No. Of pages: 432

Synopsis: 

When the common link between six random people comprises of shame and addiction, murder definitely raises questions. To what shame can go before someone loses their life? And how do you find the truth when secrets and denials are your best friend?

Review: 

I must admit that while the description motivated me to pick this book, the overall book was a big disappointment. The entire book has been written in terms of Now and Then, which makes it quite difficult to follow the flow of the story and also form any kind of bond with the characters. The main plot is definitely formed on a topic that is of immense value, but the narrative style of the book hampered with my understanding of the book as well as the characters.

The cover image and title is definitely striking and echoes well with the underlying theme of the book and for this reason I liked those two components of the book

My opinion: Beyond my opinion of how much I didn’t loke this book, I don’t think I can add anything substantial here.

My rating: 2 out of 5

Leave a Reply

