Book Review #122: The English Boys: A Mystery


Author: Julia Thomas

Genre: General Fiction, Mystery & Thrillers

Language: English

Series, if any: NA

Publisher: Midnight Ink

Date of publication: 8 July 2016

No. Of pages: 351

Synopsis: 

When a wedding turns deadly, secrets starts unraveling.

Review: 

While the description was intriguing with a contrasting cover image, I was not able to enjoy the book in its entirety. The plot was too slow with plenty of meandering that just detracts attention more than captivating the audience. The climax might have been unexpected, but I felt it was lost in all the meandering which the characters and the plot ended up doing it. 

The characters had the potential of becoming interesting, but the narrative style killed the joy of reading this book. 

My opinion: While I liked the basic idea of the book, I couldn’t enjoy it and I wouldn’t be recommending it any further. 

My rating: 2 out of 5

Leave a Reply

