Book Review #92: Classical Ornament

 

Author: C. Thierry

Genre: Arts and Crafts

Language: Illustrations

Series, if any: NA

Publisher: Dover Publications

Date of publication:  14 January 2016

No. Of pages: 74

Synopsis: 

This is a compilation of designs from temples and other buildings of ancient Greece and Rome.

Review: 

Well I am fascinated with architecture and history and Greece and Rome epitomises both for me perfectly. Naturally, I was attracted to this book merely based on the description. However, I think I skipped on the illustration part in the description. When I opened the book, I think other than the art pictures, I wanted to have a small history lesson regarding each plate. Merely looking at the pictures, I didn’t understand much since I have never been to the two places.

I can talk about the cover inage and the title but to be honest you can’t criticise something that represents the main concept of the book so thoroughly.

My opinion: 

The book is excellent for those who are in the field of art and history and what a quick reference manual when it comes to Greek and Roman architecture.

My rating: 4 out of 5

Leave a Reply

