Book Review #88 : Trifling Favours

Author: Heather Hiestand

Genre: Historical Romance, Regency, Fiction

Language: English

Series, if any: The Redcakes, Book 7

Publisher: Kensington Books

Date of publication: 15 March 2016

No. Of pages: 261

Synopsis: 

 Can an unforgettable kiss remove the stain of past and criss the social boundaries?

Betsy Popham has a past that she is still paying for while Greggory Redcake is trying to raise his motherless twins while maintaining a business. A murder brings chais to their disorganised life. Can it mend hearts as well?

Review: 

I love Regency Romances; there is a quiet elegance about them that I find appealing. However, for the first time I have been disappointed. While the main plot was excellent to say the least and the element of sweet romance was definitely tempting, I did not enjoy this book to its full potential. Being the 7th book in the Redcake series obviously suggests a familiarity of the character. But unlike many of the Regency series that I have read, I was not able to form a bond either with the characters or with the plot. There was too many things happening in the plot which definitely gave it an edge of fast pace action however it deviated my attention. In my opinion, the whole book gave off an air of superficiality and shallowness. 

The title aptly decsribes the sweetness of the romance in a Victorian era. But the cover image is definitely far drom it. It looks more like a modern Harlequin Novel or a mills and boon, which is far from the regency outlook which the author was aiming for. 

My opinion: 

The only reason I finished this book because of this review. Other than that, I see no further appeal. 

My rating: 2 out of 5


Leave a Reply

