Book Review #79:Charmed

Author: Jen Calonita

Genre: Science Fiction and Fantasy

Language: English

Series, if any: Fairy Tale Reform School series, Book 2

Publisher: Sourcebooks Jabberwocky

Date of publication: 1 March 2016

No. of pages: 288

Synopsis:

Missing Fairytales? Not to worry because here comes Charmed with its quirky tale of a Fairy Tale Reform School where the teachers are former villains and the students are petty criminals who are undergoing the process of reformation, albeit reluctantly. 

Review:

I came across my collection of fairy tales and thats how I ended up with this book. Well, to start of, this definitely a creatuve spin to the traditional Fairytales and I must commend the author for her talent in spinning a new world. 

While the storyline has been based on a world of fantasy and enchantments, giving it a fresh and quirky appeal, I couldn’t enjoy the characters completely. The lead character of Gilly Cobbler can be described as annoying and tested my patience quite a number of times. Because of the lead character, I was not able to enjoy the attributes of the rest of the character and failed to connect with the main plot. 

The cover image is bright and colorful and complements well with the title and the main plot of the book. So for once, you won’t hear me complain about that part of the book. 

My opinion: The book is definitely applicable for the Middle Graders; as an adult and despite being nostalgic for the magical realm, I was not able to enjoy the book mainly because of the lack of character development. Though I Would recommend to include more illustrations in order to attract the targeted audience. 

My rating: 2.5 out of 5

Leave a Reply

