Book Review #73: Murder on the Half Shell

 

Author: Shawn Shelly Simmons

Genre: Fiction, Mystery & Thrillers

Language: English

Series, if any: A Red Carpet Catering Mystery, Book 2

Publisher: Henery Press

Date of publication: 23 February, 2016

No. Of pages: 181

Synopsis: 

Being a part of the catering group for a film production group, Penelope Sutherland of Red Carpet Catering was challenged enough with a difficult director, unpredictable shootings and gruff behaviour of the locals. But nothing is more challenging than kidnapping and murder. Can Penelope uncover the right clues in a sunny paradise before a wrong person is punished for a crime he didn’t do?

Review: 

I am not sure what I expected when I picked up this book, despite the straightforward name. But I was definitely not expecting a book based on the genre of mystery and thriller with no thrilling component at all. At best, the book can be described simply as fiction, mainly because of the lack of both the thriller and mystery components.

The plot of the book is mainly based on the simple concept of fictional murder and mystery. But the characters fail to pull the weigt of the plot. In short, I did not like the characters and the narrative style.  The story feels shallow lole its character. And I did not find any plot development and character development.

Well the title is pretty straightforward in pointing out the plot; it is based in murder. But I do not see or understand why the half shell word has been used. I understand that the setting is mainly about a sandy paradise and seafood is involved; but how that becomes half is beyond my comprehension. The cover image looks like an amateur representation of the setting, but in reality it is mostly unappealing to say the least.

My opinion: 

The overall impression that I gathered after finishing this book is completely centred around vagueness. Will notbe recommending this.

My rating: 1 out of 5

Leave a Reply

