Lost with Alice

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “A Storybook Day.”

It was twilight when I decided to take a walk in the garden. Everything has been going wrong lately and I thought the fresh and crisp evening air will rejuvenate my soul. I was contemplating the idiosyncrasies of life, when I came across this young girl of 15 year of age pacing herself in front of this hole in the ground, mumbling to herself about something. Curiosity got better of me and I decided to approach her. 

“Hello there. Did you lose something?”

“Did Mad Hatter send you?” 

I recognised Mad Hatter from Alice in Wonderland. I couldn’t believe my eyes for a second. Is this Alice standing in front of me? How the hell did that happen? For a moment there I couldn’t believe my eyes. 

“Are you Alice?” 

“If course I am Alice. Who else will I be? You didn’t answer me. Did Hatter send you?” 

“Ummmm… No. Actually this is my garden and I was just taking a walk when I saw you poring over a hole. Did you lose something?” 

“No. I am just wondering whether I should really follow my decision of going down the hole. Last time I got into lot of trouble. And I am wearing such a pretty dress. I was hoping to meet Johnny today. But Mad Hatter has a way of popping in when least expected. Now my ice cream date is interrupted and here I am standing over a hole and talking to a random girl who seems to be older than me.” 

Wow. That was a lot of input of information that has been bombarded without any break. I had to take a moment to compose myself before I could respond. 

“Alice. But why do you want to go down the hole again. You already got into so much trouble last time. So why do you want to follow on the same path?” 

“Path? It’s not a path down there. It’s a wormhole. Wait!!! How do you know about last time? Who told you? Are you related to that big- head queen of hearts?” 

“Alice. Please relax. I mean you no harm. And no. I am not related to that queen. I heard about your adventures from Lewis. I am really sorry if I am causing you more anxiety. If you want I can leave you to your hole in the ground.” 

“Lewis. Is he cute? Is he like my Johnny? Do you want to come with me down the hole? We could have fun. And, I kind of want some sane company with me this time.” 

“Well, I am not very fond of the idea of jumping down some muddy, dark wormhole and ruin my clothes. But I do not want to leave you aline either. You are of the same age as my brother. Fine let’s do this” 

Looking at the hole with Alice, a shiver passed down my spine; the hole didn’t look like it could fit anybody.    

I don’t if it’s the weather or the nerves or maybe the anticipation of a new adventure, but I can’t seem to be able to stop shivering. The chill that was earlier present in the air, now seems to resonate with this warm and tingly feel of anticipation that I am feeling right now. One step is all that it took, and I am down the hole, sliding on gravel and dirt and next moment, I am flying through air to land on my face. That’s bloody gonna hurt and bruise. 

“Alice. Are you alright?”

“Alice? Aliceeeeeeeee? Aaaaaliiiiceeeeee? Alice this is not funny!!! Where are you?” 

“Stop yelling will you? I was just checking if the coast is clear or not. With the way you are yelling that just might become a false prediction. Come on!!! Let’s go. Hatter should be waiting for me.” 

For a tiny 15-year old girl, her grip is pretty strong. She might as well have me dragged me, with the way she is pulling me behind. 

There’s a whole new world right outside the wormhole cave. The whole air felt like it was shimmering and if I just extend my hands I can actually scoop out some of that magic. And a forest of towering bejewelled mushrooms extended in front of me. I just wanted to stand and stare, but Alice kept pulling me.   

   “Wait Alice. I really wanna enjoy this.”

“No. No. Now is not the time. We are always going to be in danger in this place. Just come with me. We can stare later.” 

I did not feel like leaving all this glorious beauty behind. But the urgency in her voice really bothered me. So I followed her into the shroom forest. Each mushroom reminded me of the times when my friends used to unwind by smoking up weed and talking about the effects of shrooms. For a moment, I felt like laughing. Maybe the whole dreaming element of this experience will be somewhat neutralised. 

I feel like I am walking and reliving a dream that I have already read about. I see the gleam of a teeth and sparkling emerald cat eyes floating in mid-air and I know I will be soon looking at the grinning face of Cheshire. Everything is exactly like the way the book decribed, but the dynamics of the story is different this time. Maybe it’s me? I keep expecting the other shoe to drop as I am walking down this never-ending dirt road. Alice seems to be happy; she is humming softly and skipping in accord with her tune. But all I feel is this twitchy feeling between my shoulder blades, the prickle of awareness that is warning me that something is just about to happen. 

17 thoughts on “Lost with Alice

  1. Hey Itchy-feet,
    It’s a wonderful read!
    I like Alice,
    Without any Malice!
    Everytime I see a post such,
    I get deja-vus very much! ๐Ÿ˜›
    I have shared it on FB and Twitter.
    Though you might not have an account on Google, you should enable sharing for other friends(like me)
    I hope inspiration never runs dry for you.
    Love and light โค
    Anand ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Wow! What a creative mind you have ๐Ÿ™‚ I read about Alice in Wonderland sooo many years ago, I think 32 years ago lol ๐Ÿ˜› But I love watching the movie version. I still can’t keep us or remember the names though, I guess my mind is getting blurry lol ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope you continue your creative take on stories. I will be with you on your great adventure as it brings back childhood memories. Keep up the good work! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for the support and encouragement!!!! I don’t think I deviated much from the original storyline. So I don’t it’s that creative. But the way it was going, I think this has been the most effective

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

