Book Review #11: The Carnelian Legacy

I was given this book on ARC in exchange for an honest review.

 

Author: Cheryl Koevoet

Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult

Language: English

Number of pages: 366

Publisher: Abbott Press

Date of publishing: 21 February, 2015

Synopsis: 

Life changed for eighteen-year old Marissa on the day of her father’s funeral. In an attempt to seek comfort, she sets out on her daily ride through the woods of Gold Hill. However, instead of the comfort that she was seeking, a mysterious lightening storm strikes and she is hurled into an alternate medieval dimension called Carnelia, where she meets arrogant but extremely attractive nobleman Darian Fiore.

Stranded in a world with conspiracies and danger, will Marissa finally find a place for herself? Or will she always be the one left behind broken.

Review: 

I am usually sceptical when it comes to books based on fantasy world. There is fine line that disguishes a good fantasy from a world unrealistic. I have read numerous fantasy and paranormal books, but rarely the scenario has played out where I actually become a part of the book. I was surprised and pleased to note that the author was able to establish an alternate world of Carnelia in a believable way and explained it in such simple terms that the reader is able to comprehend and appreciate it. The background thus helped me in getting totally involved with the plot line. The characters Marissa, Darian, Arrie, and Savio were well thought out and grounded in reality with repect to their world in dimension. The depth in their personality definitely attracted me and I was able to envision myself living in medieval times with the characters. For this reason itself, the fantasy element of the book was totally successful. The character of Marissa did irritate me further, but I think it was mostly because I was able to relate to her personality up to a certain extent.

The plot line was successful both for the characters and the reader in creating a make-believe world filled with danger and adventure, and delicately entwined with political conspiracies. There was not one single moment where I was bored or I considered the notion of just skipping to the end, which I usually do when the fantasy gets out of hand.

My opinion: A definite yes. I can’t wait to see how the rest of the series plays out.

Rating: 4.2 out of 5

Leave a Reply

