Why do I write?

I agree completely with Nicole Harper when she said:

“Why does one begin to write? Because she feels misunderstood, I guess. Because it never comes out clearly enough when she tries to speak. Because she wants to rephrase the world, to take it in and give it back again differently, so that everything is used and nothing is lost. Because it’s something to do to pass the time until she is old enough to experience the things she writes about.” 

I am a good orator, but I often lack coherency of thought process. It is one of the biggest reasons why I often do not indulge into debates and controversies. And it is one of the biggest reason why people often label me as the girl who is disinterested with life. Every time I have tried to express a point or an opinion, I have been misunderstood. So why do I write?

  • I write because I know I have a voice that should be listened to. 
  • I write because that’s the only medium of expression that helps me in assembling my thoughts into a coherent order. I might call it rambling. But it is only because the words echoes in my head in such a way. 
  • I write because the world seems like an oyster when I use words. I can paint any picture, not only for the reader but also for me.
  • I write because my words help me in reliving my passion for travel. 
  • I write because I can be Me again, without any judgement or repercussions. 
15 thoughts on “Why do I write?

  1. ” It is one of the biggest reasons why I often do not indulge into debates and controversies.”

    Not indulging in debates and controversies is sign of wisdom and suggests you have clarity of thinking. I don’t feel you are confused. 🙂

    Many wonderful reasons to write and beautiful quote.

    Thanks for sharing. Keep writing.

    { Though I couldn’t get the ‘oyster analogy’ to be honest 😛 }

    I wish you very best in everything you do.

    Anand 🙂

    Like

  2. I completely relate to lack of coherency being the main reason for not participating in debates, discussions, arguments. I can never seem to gather all my thoughts. I need to write them down and organize. Glad to hear there is someone else like me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

