Book Review #6: Sugar Baby Beautiful

Author: J.J. McAvoy

Genre: Romance, Women’s Fiction

Language: English

Number of Pages: 244

Publisher: NYLA

Date of Publication: 21 August 2015

Synopsis:

A chance encounter at a sugar party, changes the course of life for 24-year old Felicity Harper when she meet Theodore Darcy for the first time. Rich, brilliant, dominating, sexy, hot as hell. Every combination that she has ever dreamt of. But is it enough to come to terms with past demons and shine in the future?

The grabbing point: 

I am having very mixed feelings right now. I am a big fan of mills & boons, or politely called as Women’s fiction. So I am pretty much  used to all kinds of writing style. But this was a shocker, to put it mildly. The author did full justice to her characters, so beautifully that I actually had some moments of tear gland malfunction. But the elements of 50 shades of Grey, unnerved me for a moment even though it justified the whole approach to the book. But the biggest shocker was the anti-climax. I mean, wow. Least expected and definitely worth it. The whole book has been wrapped up in a sweet, unassuming package of contemporary romance, but the unraveling of the plot definitely leaves you reeling.

The negative: 

I really do not like the name. It seriously confounds me, even though an explanation has been provided at the end of the story. I really do not like it. And the cover image is definitely nice, but I do not like that mustard color. It just doesn’t make the book appealing at all.

My opinion: Despite the color and the name, the book is definitely worth a read.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Leave a Reply

