Fountainhead

 In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Three Coins in the Fountain.”

Well, once upon a time there was a little girl, a little quirky, but far from a delusional being. She preferred to live in a fantasy land just like The one that Enid Blyton had created in his Faraway Tree series. She loved to burrow herself in the fairy tale book, irrespective of the language and she used to dream about all the glitter and glamour of the magical word that is waiting for her to out there.

That was quite good wasn’t it? Almost seemed like a little girl waiting out there, hoping and praying for magic. Oh don’t worry!! I think I came in this world cynical though I definitely loved reading books of the mystical land of faeries and dwarfs and toads becoming prince because of a curse. There was a time when I actually wondered if I was cursed into a tall, lanky, tom boyish body. But then, I did grew into it (not gracefully at all though :P)

My summer used to be spent amidst story books of English and Bengali (my mother tongue) since I used to be often bed-ridden, either with some ailment or because of some injury (later one used to be more common) To try out the logistics of wishes and magic, I decided to pay a visit to the local chapel nearby with my parents. Allegedly, the fountain in the chapel is said to have magical properties. But the condition that should be followed is that you cannot tell the wishes to anyone. Well what could be the harm in trying out right??

I carried a single one-rupee coin with me. And I did read in one of the books that three makes any magic stronger. So, I haggled both my parents for a rupee each. Three for each one of us.


I made the wish, one at a time, very diligently, kissed the coin and dropped them into the fountain. “Splash!!!” “Splash!!!” “Splash!!” – three distinctive sounds amidst the gurgling water of the fountain. The tinkling sounds of the other coins seemed to be calling out to my coins. It almost felt like the musical note of a laughing fairy as depicted in the books (I really do get involved in the book world, don’t I?)

What I wished for?

Wish 1 – The ones I love should always be happy
(Status – A work in progress)

Wish 2 – I hate the constant reprimand of how I should act more grown up.
(Status – Finally, I am an adult and there are days when it just sucks)

Wish 3 – I become Me and maybe I get to live my happily ever after
(Status – A work in progress)

Well, the magic of the fountain seemed to have only worked halfway in my case Maybe I should try them out in Rome next??

Until the next magic happens…

~ Cheers

4 thoughts on “Fountainhead

  1. Definitely go to Rome whether it’s for more fountain action or not!! But seriously, I think wish 3 is forever a work in progress that’s not to say it’s a bad thing because I think it’s what keep us growing!! I’m 48 and I’m still growing.

    By the way I love your blog and I especially love the upside down shoes picture 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sigh!!! Rome!!! One day man!!! 😀 I will definitely go there one day.
      Growth is evolutionary. It can not be stopped. Whoever says old age is a stopper was wrong.
      Thank you so much 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

