Book Review #3: The Color Purple

Author: Alice Walker

Genre: Fiction, Epistolary Novel

Language: English

Number of Pages: 295

Publisher: Harcourt Brace Jovanovich

Release Date: 1982

The grabbing point: 

I hated this book. I have never been fond of first tone narratives in a novel. And when a book starts in that note describing experience of a child bein sexually abused in a grammatically incorrect English, it definitely didn’t sit well with me. But it definitely turned out to be a book that pushed me towards the path of understanding feminism and sexuality.

Celie, the protagonist and the narrative of the books is a 14-year old uneducated poor black girl living in Georgia with her sister Nettie, belonging from a household where she is sexually and physically abused, finds solace in her letters written to God. The book will take you through a wonderful journey exploring the pain of leadig an abused life, while exploring female sexuality, exploring African rituals of female circumcision and genital scarring, discussing the traditional image we associate with God, and reaching a point where you find yourself and being at terms with the person that you truly are.

The negatives: 

I honestly can not think of anybody. I found the book to be excellent. And a definite must-read for all.

Interesting fact: 

This book has been adapted into a film and musical of the same name. I have watched the movie and it has truly justified the book. It is a 154 min movie, directed by Steven Spielberg, starring Whoopie Goldberg as Celia. A brilliant movie that went on to be nominated for 11 Oscars.

The book has also been awarded the 1983 Pilitzer Prize for Fiction and the National Book Award for Fiction.

Overall Rating: 4.9 out of 10

Favourite quotes:

“…have you ever found God in church? I never did. I just found a bunch of folks hoping for him to show. Any God I ever felt in church I brought in with me. And I think all the other folks did too. They come to church to share God, not find God.”

“I am an expression of the divine, just like a peach is, just like a fish is. I have a right to be this way…I can’t apologize for that, nor can I change it, nor do I want to… We will never have to be other than who we are in order to be successful…We realize that we are as ourselves unlimited and our experiences valid. It is for the rest of the world to recognize this, if they choose.”

Leave a Reply

